This and that from re Thai r ment, by 3Th. January 14, 2011

TODAY’S FACTOID:

1888 New York City

July 5 – Danny Lyons kills rival pimp Joseph Quinn in a gunfight over prostitute Kitty McGown.
August 21 – Danny Lyons, leader of the Whyos street gang, is executed for the murder of Joseph Quinn.

(How’s that for quick justice?)

POOKIE’S ADVENTURES IN THAILAND:

Yesterday was my first day back on my old schedule since I returned. This morning I walked along the beach observing the mornings doings. I know previously I commented on what I saw that, what at least to me, I felt was humorous or interesting but to others may appear, at best, dyspeptic. The exotic culture of “little Crimea,” the acres of bleached flesh and so on have all caught my attention. But, I have recently come to the realization that perhaps the strangest denizen of the strand is one aging farang striding purposefully along the shore in a geriatric power walk, half stagger and half step.

Who could it be? Why it is me! With my crushed straw hat, walking stick, flowered shirt and sandals tucked into my belt, I am greeted by smiling Thai vendors with “Hey Papa, getting your exercise today. Good for you!” Of course being a farang, to them I am a bit crazy and stupid for, at my age, walking out in the hot sun while anyone with any sense is lying in the shade under the beach umbrellas. ( I would guess that their amusement also could be directed at the Siberian hordes, stagnating together like marble statues in the shallows.)

Despite the provocation, I keep trudging along, a smile on my face and earphones in my ears leading from my newly purchased Isomething, that I cannot get to do anything except play music. The music I am listening to is “A girl from Ipanema” (I know it indicates my advanced age. As one gets older and one loses friends, one is left with memories and “A girl from Ipanema.”) At least it is somewhat appropriate music for a walk on the beach and so I walk on with a smile on my face and a Samba hitch in my gait. Unfortunately, I have not learned how to get the Isomething to do anything other than play the same song over and over…”…when she passes, I smile, but she doesn’t see…Ahhh”…still I smile and walk on.

JOEY’S MYSTERY NOVEL:

Chapter 4. Thickening the plot is like cooking Gumbo, no matter how lumpy the soup it is still has to simmer.

Chapter 4.

Three days later Vincent Biondi could be found in a small office located in one of the less desired floors leased out by the Firm of Mckenzie Reed. His one small window looked directly at a similar window in the next building. He sat at a utilitarian metal desk. On the other side of the desk facing him sat his two secretaries in uncomfortable old wooden chairs that appeared to have been locked away in storage somewhere for at least a century.

Nina Garcia his old secretary was a fourty-ish women with a nest of black hair just beginning to go grey here and there. He had no idea if she was a good secretary relative to other secretaries in the firm, but she had always been good enough for his needs. She was pleasant and unperturbed by the normal almost daily crises in a large law office. In her spare time after work she also made quilts for sale. One of Vinnie’s faults was he tended to judge people on the nature of their idiosyncrasies rather than the quality of their work.

The other secretary was named Ray Ronald. He had a light tan skin but otherwise manifested the features of just about every ethnic group in the City, down to his Norwegian blue eyes. His hair was tight curly bleached blond with black and pink highlights. He had a number of rings on his ear and a nose stud. He was dressed in tight jeans, a pale blue tight fitting shirt unbuttoned half way down his hairless chest and on his feet were what looked women’s low-heeled shoes. Vince could not decide if he was gay or just an outlandish exhibitionist. This was San Francisco after all.

Vince had just gone over their duties, responsibilities and initial assignments when he added, “One more thing, whenever either of you sets up a meeting for me I would like one of you to immediately get on your computer and get me whatever information you can on this person and make sure I have it during the meeting.”

“Does this include other attorney’s in the firm” said Nina seemingly somewhat distressed by the intrigue of it all?

“Especially firm partners” he laughed, “and any gossip as well”

“Awesome” Ray exclaimed.

Nina just looked at rainbow haired young man and sniffed.

After they left Vince sat alone in his office he thought about what David had told him yesterday.

It seems that a firm client, a company called Red Star Industries, with the firms assistance, received a no-bid contract to build and operate military warehouses in Kyrgyzstan, Kuwait and other places where material and supplies to be used in the Iraq and Afghanistan wars could be stored prior to transshipment when needed in the war zone.

A no bid contract is usually used by the government where a company has a unique expertise and there is an emergency of some sort that would make the traditional bidding process too slow. Unfortunately the company “Red Star Industries,” had no expertise. It was formed solely for the purpose of getting this contract by two politically connected individuals. Damon Morley, owner of a long distance trucking company located in Riverside California, and a Bay Area home builder named William “Big Bill” McWilliams. The firm maintained that given the individuals experience in shipping and construction they were uniquely qualified to carry out this contract even though there must be a thousand other individuals and companies at least as qualified as they were.

After obtaining the contract and commencing operations, a routine audit uncovered the fact that a lot of material stored in the warehouses had gone missing. A more comprehensive investigation was commenced and it appears that not only could the company not account for the missing material but that it may have had a hand its sale. Also evidence surfaced that there may have been bribery or undue political influence in the awarding of the contract.

Finally, he learned that eight partners in the firm had varying degrees of ownership in the company, Sam, all the members of the management committee, the partner in charge of the client Sheldon Seigal, and two partners in the firm’s Washington DC office, Phil Mikkleson the partner who handled most of the relationships on the Republican side of the political deifie, and Gerald Dine, a Democrat that worked as an attorney in the Defense department during the Clinton administration and Fred Carpenter a retired colonel in the Army Judge Adjutant Generals Corps in charge of procurement issues who headed the firm’s Governmental Contracts practice group.

Besides the ethical issues involved, this was all done in violation of firm policy. A policy that Vince had strongly supported required that any potential, non fee related, income or financial opportunity generated by a partner as a result of his representation belongs to the firm as a whole. Vince believed that not only was this fair to everyone in the firm, but supposedly the firm could then monitor the ethical implications of any arrangement as well.

When he heard this Vince demanded that the partners disgorge any money that they had received and put it into a trust fund to be held until the investigation is complete, then if it is determined that the proceeds were legal they would be distributed to the firm as a whole.

“I never received any money” said Kitchen, “and everyone else claims they did not either.”

But the federal audit showed that the company’s books indicated that substantial profits were paid to all the owners and investors.

PEPE’S POTPOURRI:

a. Sayings from the Princess Bride:

Westley: We are men of action, lies do not become us.

b. The wit and Wisdom of Baba Giufa:

Seeker: Baba Giufa, tell me, how does one meditate properly?

Baba Giufa: Do you like to chew gum?

Seeker: Er…yes..what does that have to do with it?

Baba Giufa: Then chew some gum and concentrate on how much you enjoy it. Soon you will be meditating. There is no need to suffer in order to find enlightenment.

c. Jokes for Mathematicians:

1. Moebius always does it on the same side.

2. Heisenberg might have slept here.

TODAY’S QUOTE:

Today’s quotes come through the generosity of Cordt Holland.

A black cat crossing your path signifies that the animal is going somewhere.
Groucho Marx

A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.
Groucho Marx

A hospital bed is a parked taxi with the meter running.
Groucho Marx

A man’s only as old as the woman he feels.
Groucho Marx

A woman is an occasional pleasure but a cigar is always a smoke.
Groucho Marx

Alimony is like buying hay for a dead horse.
Groucho Marx

All people are born alike – except Republicans and Democrats.
Groucho Marx

Anyone who says he can see through women is missing a lot.
Groucho Marx

Before I speak, I have something important to say.
Groucho Marx

Behind every successful man is a woman, behind her is his wife.
Groucho Marx

Either he’s dead or my watch has stopped.
Groucho Marx

From the moment I picked your book up until I laid it down, I was convulsed with laughter. Someday I intend reading it.
Groucho Marx

Getting older is no problem. You just have to live long enough.
Groucho Marx

Go, and never darken my towels again.
Groucho Marx

Humor is reason gone mad.
Groucho Marx

I didn’t like the play, but then I saw it under adverse conditions – the curtain was up.
Groucho Marx

I don’t care to belong to a club that accepts people like me as members.
Groucho Marx

I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book.
Groucho Marx

I have a mind to join a club and beat you over the head with it.
Groucho Marx

I have had a perfectly wonderful evening, but this wasn’t it.
Groucho Marx

QUOTE OF THE MONTH:

“I’ve had Thai women look at me incredulously and shake their heads in amazement when I’ve told them that women, in the western world, do it for free. “Have they no pride” is the reaction I got from one Thai lady.”
StickmanBangkok.com

Categories: January 2011 through March 2011 | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

