This and that from re Thai r ment. June 30 2010

I have just returned from my weekly Wednesday afternoon BBQ. The feast is held at a place called the Jade Palace owned by a German expatriate and caters to mostly American white males. In addition to the copious amount of BBQ meat oozing the melted fat of various species of ruminant (A cuisine favored by the American bull male but treated with disgust by the Thai), the bar was flooded with scantily clad young Thai women who cluster around, like flies on offal, the mountainous flesh of the American whales gathered there . My age and limited financial resources (and no, not the common sense that my mother always told me I have in short supply) prevented me from indulging in anything more than consuming my weekly ration of burned animal flesh.

Nevertheless as I ate I grew contemplative. Why that scene prompted such meditation I refuse to guess. However a number if the emails I have sent and received these last few days have got me thinking about life and my role in it (always a bad sign). I thought, that for me at least, life was in the experience and not in what I have done or what has been done to me. I guess, as I have mentioned before in these emails, the words of one of my favorite philosophers Scarlett O’Hara rings ever true “Tomorrow is another day.”

Speaking of tomorrow or thereafter, I plan to go back to Chiang Mai at the end of next week to visit Hayden. Since his mother plans on returning with him to San Francisco in September, this may be one of the last chances I will get to see him, or even communicate with him. His imminent departure has presented me with a quandary. Do I stay here in Paradise by the Sea attending my weekly BBQ and enjoying the occasional massage or do I do something else?

It has been suggested by some (mostly by me) that I move around a bit, to live for a while in other low-cost jurisdictions. I have found that it is the traveling and governmental fees that tend to break my budget but if I stay in the same place for two or three months, I actually save money.

I would like to spend some time in India and Srinagar where I have never been, believing I was not yet mature enough to experience India. I have also been looking at New Zealand and Australia as places to stop for a few months along the way. Ghana has been suggested as a good place to live for a while before proceeding on to Megiddo where I have planned to meet my friend Irwin on December 21, 2012, to watch the world’s end play out below us on the Plains of Armageddon, not so much because I believe the world will actually end but because it gives me something to plan for.

If the world does not end, I can make my way back to Thailand along the silk route.

Maybe I can find a sponsor. AARP may want to sponsor me in return for an article on “How far can a 70-year-old go on social security go before he starves to death, dies of exposure or some dread disease or is slain by bandits.”

Or I can just take a nap…Which I think I will do now.

Ciao…

Categories: April 2010 through June 2010 | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

