This and that from re Thai r ment by 3Th. September 27, 2010

Today’s factoid:

1633 The Inquisition in Rome forces Galileo to renounce his theory that Earth revolves around the sun.

But even in the face of possibly being burned at the stake he refuses to abandon his claim that pepperoni is the best topping for pizza. The inquisition backs down.

Today’s quote:

“Question with boldness even the existence of a God; because, if there be one, he must more approve of the homage of reason, than that of blindfolded fear.”
Thomas Jefferson

Petrillo’s Comment:

In reviewing my past posts I have noticed that they have gotten progressively longer and as a result I fear may be boring many of you. Therefore, I decided to limit the body of my future posts to “Pookie’s Adventures.” I will however consider adding an attachment for those who may be interested in reading more. Since they would be attachments, no one except those curious enough to open the attachment need be confronted by the excess of words.

Since I have been in Thailand, in addition to my emails, journals and submissions to the left-wing blog, I have begun the following writing projects:
A mystery novel
An irreverent retelling of the sacred books of the Abrahamic religions.
A semi-autobiographical and at times probably apocryphal history of the seedy Petrillo clan.
A political blog.
Some children’s’ stories.
Obviously I have completed none of them preferring instead to nap rather than to write.

I thought, if I started attaching portions of these efforts to my posts, it may be of interest to a few of you and would help incentivize me to finish some of them. Your comments and criticisms would also be helpful.

I was originally going to add to this post an attachment containing a portion of my retelling of the Bible, but decided against it because I was afraid it would offend most of you.

So instead, those that are interested, please let me know which of the above you would be most interested in reading excerpts from first.

Pookie’s continuing adventures in Paradise:

Actually, little has occurred since I last wrote. I have had a massage or two, swam in the pool and except for foray’s to Cafe Le Mar for breakfast, spent the rest of the past two days in my condo reading, writing and looking at French movies. I love French movies they rarely make any sense at all even though they approach their plots with deadly seriousness.

Yesterday, Slattery, the landlord and alleged rock drummer and backgammon master, dropped by to renegotiate the lease and collect the rent. He was accompanied by a new girlfriend. He appeared to have lost a lot of weight. It may have been good for his health, but it did not seem to improve his looks any.

We agreed on proceeding on a month to month basis until I get around to deciding what I am going to do next.

Todays medical chart:

In addition to the inanity of the content and the awful graphics, please note full heterosexuality is 0 on the scale while the opposite sexual preference is awarded a 6. Really now…

Ciao…

Categories: July 2010 through September 2010 | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

