This and that from re Thai r ment, by 3Th. June 2, 2011

TODAY‘S FACTOID:

a. 2011: Research shows people who are their own bosses are happier than those who work for someone else. (http://www.businessinsider.com/the-psychology-of-starting-a-small-business-2011-4#ixzz1N6b2bdVj)

I guess it is ok for science to prove up the obvious. In that case, I would like to know if healthy people are happier than sick people. Then again maybe not.

b. Biblical Times: According to Zohar and the Alphabet of Ben Sira,

Lilith

Lilith (Photo credit: rami.sedhom)

there were four angels of sacred prostitution, who mated with archangel Samael. They were the queens of the demons Lilith, Naamah, Agrat Bat Mahlat and Eisheth Zenunim.

Oh Samael, you devil you. Those were the days.

 

 

 

 

 

 

TODAY’S NEWS FROM (THAILAND) AMERICA:

Holy pig poop, we have a pork crisis. We need a Manhattan Project type program to close the “pig gap” that threatens our national security. What would happen if China were to unleash their 500 million pigs into Russia? There would be nothing to stop them as they sweep across the steppes and savage NATO. What happens when all the domino’s fall beneath 2 billion pig feet and that ravening horde reach the Atlantic? Is America next to see their liberties overwhelmed and buried under billions of tons of pig shit? America wake up!!
Remember:

Patriots eat more bacon.
Pig out for America.
Pork the white meat for white people.
Republicans know their pork.
Liberals eschew pork, real Americans eat it raw.
A pig in every back yard, a flag on every front lawn.
Jesus ate bacon.

Add your own here.

POOKIE’S ADVENTURES IN (THAILAND) CALIFORNIA:

This weekend I spent with my sister, Mary Anne and brother-in-law, George at their place in the town of Mendocino. My daughter-in-law Annemarie and her husband Dean were kind enough to drive me there. We had a great time. I have attached photographs.

Mr sister mentioned that for several years after they purchased the place, they rented out the main house to an older woman while they stayed in the guest house whenever either of them could get some time off from work. Sometimes in the mornings, Mary would sit on the deck having her morning coffee and watch the woman putter around the yard tending the wonderful flower garden she had created. Mary would watch her and think, “She’s living my life. I should be doing that.”

Now I repeat this story, not simply to expose my sister’s musings to general review and evaluation, but because after she told it, I wondered what I or any typical male would think about if he sat on the same deck with his morning coffee and watched the same old woman prune, water and whatever in her garden. I imagine It would go something like this:

“I’m really fortunate to be able to sit here and watch this woman work in her garden. It is so beautiful, relaxing and pleasant. Isn’t it nice she is doing all this for my enjoyment. I wonder if I can get her to wash my socks and underwear?”

JOEY’S MYSTERY NOVEL:

Chapter 21 (continued)

Following Foster’s departure, Vince got down to attending to the nitty-gritty of law firm administration, reviewing budgets, signing letters and documents, examining purchase orders. He knew that this probably would become an all-nighter, so he had Nina order him dinner delivered to his office and sent her home. It is not unusual for attorney’s in large law firms now and then to spend the night in their office working and Vince always kept a packed overnight bag in a corner of his office in case he did so or he had to suddenly go out-of-town and did not have time to return home and pack. He liked working at night, it was quiet and the lights of the City outside his window he thought were pretty.

At about 11pm he had grown bored with administrative matters and turned to examine the boxes of files brought by Ray from Sam’s secret office. He had just gotten into the first file when the phone rang. It was Fat Al.

“She made me,” he said, obviously exasperated.

“What do you mean?”

“I waited outside her condo-building for about an hour. She came out and got into a taxi and took off up Market Street toward Civic Center. When they got to the Federal Building the taxi stopped at the curb and nothing happened for a few minutes. Then the taxi suddenly took off circled the block and stopped again. I knew she was trying to see if she was being followed, but I was being careful and I was sure she had not made me. The taxi suddenly started up again and she returned to her condo building. I waited around for a few hours and after my relief showed up returned to my office. About an hour ago, a bike messenger showed up at the office and explained that some guy asked him to deliver an envelope to me. I told him to wait while I reviewed the contents. The envelope contained a short note. Here let me read it to you;

‘Dr Mr. Pischotti,
if you are so eager to know my whereabouts during the day, please call me at the number below and I will be happy to let you know my schedule. In that way you can save you client some money and I can go about my business.
Yours,
Isabella Yeung.’

When I asked the bike messenger about the person who hired him he said that it was just some guy. He had hung around talking with some of the other bike messengers before taking off for the night when the guy walked up to him asked him to deliver the envelope right away and paid cash.”

Vince chuckled.

“I’m sorry Vince. What would you like me to do now?”

Still chuckling Vince said, “Take her up on her offer. Call her. And ask her to call me when she has the time. You can get on with the other assignments I gave you. By the way, do you have someone watching Mrs. Coign?”

“Yeah, I sent him out about an hour ago. He just called in. The lights are all out in the house. He could not determine if the car is in the garage. Do you want me to have him check?”

“No, tomorrow will be ok. She is nervous already and any noise probably would send her calling the cops. Anyway I am sure the place is loaded with security equipment.”

They hung up and Vince, smiled, shook his head and returned to his files.

PEPE’S POTPOURRI:

a. Eponymous laws:

Benford’s law — In any collection of statistics, a given statistic has roughly a 30% chance of starting with the digit 1.

I bet the other digits are unhappy about that. It just goes to proves that if you give a man a hand, in 30% of the cases he will give you the finger.

b. Trenz Pruca’s Aphorisms, Apothegms, Epigrams and Maxims ( http:/trenzpruca.wordpress.com/):

“The outsourcing of governmental services is theft of public property.”

c. From God’s mouth to your ears:

How to deal with your teenager God’s way:

“If a man have a stubborn and rebellious son, which will not obey the voice of his father, or the voice of his mother, and that, when they have chastened him, will not hearken unto them; Then shall his father and mother lay hold on him, and bring him out unto the elders of the city, and unto the gate of his place; And they shall say unto the elders of his city, This our son is stubborn and rebellious, he will not obey our voice; he is a glutton, and a drunkard. And all the men of his city shall stone him with stones, that he die: so shalt thou put evil away from among you; and all Israel shall hear, and fear.” (Deuteronomy 21:18-21).

“And he that curseth his father, or his mother, shall surely be put to death.” (Exodus 21:17)

“For every one that curseth his father or his mother shall be surely put to death: he that cursed his father or his mother; his blood shall be upon him.” (Leviticus 20:9)
TODAY’S QUOTE:

“Eagles may soar in the clouds, but weasels never get sucked into jet engines. “
~Attributed to both Jason Hutchison and John Benfield

TODAY’S PHOTOGRAPH:

Categories: April 2011 through June 2011 | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

